Strategic Policy Committees

  • dlr County Council is advised and supported by six Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs) covering key areas such as:
    Economic Development & Enterprise,
  • Environment,
  • Community Development & Culture,
  • Housing,
  • Planning and
  • Transport.

DLR Chamber is represented on most of these SPCs and has formal recognition on these committees as the official collective voice of business in the county. The membership of each SPC is a mixture of councillors, executives and representatives of community bodies. The purpose of an SPC is to formulate, develop, monitor and review policies which relate to the function of DLR County Council.

SPCs are very influential in determining the direction of Council policy. It is because of our broad representation across different SPCs that DLR Chamber is well positioned to highlight unintended or broader consequences of different policy initiatives.