Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has announced that travel restrictions to some countries will be reduced from 9 July.

Speaking at Dublin Castle this evening, Mr Varadkar said that a “green list” of countries will be put together by that date.

He said it will showcase which countries can be travelled to from Ireland and where the 14-day quarantine will not apply.

The list will be compiled based off epidemiological data at a European Union level and is subject to change every two weeks.

Mr Varadkar said that if a country ends up having a resurgence of the virus, they can be taken off the list.

He also said checks and controls will be stepped up at airports and ports, which will include moving the Public Health Passenger Locator Form online.

There will also be an expanded list of people arriving into the country who will be exempt from the quarantine period, such as certain vital employees that need to enter the country.

The Taoiseach said we will see additional outbreaks and new spikes, adding that you can only open air travel between countries where the virus is at a similar level.

Mr Varadkar said that the advice at the moment is that people should not engage in any non-essential travel off the island, but said the Government was signalling that from 9 July there will be a list of countries that you can travel to.

On domestic travel, restrictions across the country will be lifted as per the roadmap from Monday.