Due to COVID-19, the Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage has today (24th February 2021) agreed with the Commissioner of Valuation that the Commissioner will defer the revaluation of rateable properties in the following local authority areas until 2022:

Clare County Council, Donegal County Council, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Galway City Council, Galway County Council, Kerry County Council and Mayo County Council.

New valuations arising from the revaluation of these local authorities will now be finalised in September 2022 and become effective for rates purposes from 2023 onwards.

The revaluations of these local authorities are part of an ongoing national programme to ensure that the rateable valuations of all commercial and industrial properties in Ireland are updated on a regular cycle so as to maintain relativity between individual ratepayers in the same local authority area. The purpose of revaluation is to bring increased transparency and equity to the local authority rating system.

Neither residential property nor agricultural lands are rateable and consequently are not affected by revaluation.

If you require further information, please contact the Valuation Office as follows:

Phone: 01 8171006
Email: press.officer@valoff.ie